The Philippines Special Resident Retiree’s Visa (SRRV) is a long-term residency visa issued by the Philippine Bureau of Immigration under a retirement program run by the Philippine Retirement Authority (PRA). It is open to foreign nationals and former Filipino citizens aged 40 and above, and a spouse and children can apply together as dependents. Many families look at the SRRV mainly because of their children: can a child be added as a dependent, does a child studying in the Philippines still need a separate student visa, and what should a family check before choosing a school?
According to the PRA website (checked September 2026), an SRRV dependent is limited to the principal applicant’s legal spouse, and to legitimate or legally adopted children who are unmarried and under 21 at the time of filing; PRA lists exemption from a separate work or student visa or permit as a benefit of holding an SRRV. Under Bureau of Immigration (BI) rules, a foreign child on a tourist visa who is under 18 needs a Special Study Permit (SSP) to study in the Philippines, and one aged 18 or above needs a Student Visa (9F) to attend college; BI also lists cases that don’t need either, such as the dependent children of certain work-visa (9G) holders. On the deposit side, the SRRV deposit already covers the principal applicant plus 2 dependents; for the Classic category, each dependent from the 3rd onward adds US$15,000, so a couple bringing two children moves the deposit up a tier.
This article marks its sources as “Zagdim verified” or “Zagdim research.” Where the official material we reviewed (as of September 2026) doesn’t spell something out, we mark it “not specified by official rules.” Zagdim research comes from Zagdim Field Research: the Zagdim research team has compiled the first-hand experiences of nearly 1,500 SRRV applicants, holders and people considering the visa, from 2007 to 2026, recording processing times, costs, documents and problems case by case and cross-checking them against the official PRA rules (see How Zagdim researches). Data is current as of September 2026.
SRRV Family School Overview
| Item | Official Rule (Zagdim verified) | What to Watch |
|---|---|---|
| Who can be a dependent | Legal spouse; legitimate or legally adopted children who are unmarried and under 21 at the time of filing | Age is counted “at the time of filing” |
| Does a child need a separate student visa or permit | PRA lists exemption from a separate work/student visa or permit as an SRRV holder benefit | What documents a school will ask to see for an SRRV dependent is not specified by official rules we reviewed |
| A foreign child on a tourist visa | Under 18: Special Study Permit (SSP); 18 and above attending college: Student Visa (9F) | The SSP rides on a tourist visa and must be filed by the school; dependent children of certain work-visa (9G) holders, among others, are exempt |
| Effect of bringing children on the deposit | Deposit covers the principal applicant plus 2 dependents; for Classic, each dependent from the 3rd onward adds US$15,000 | A couple with 2 children counts as 3 dependents |
| Once a child turns 21 | Not specified in public PRA material (as of September 2026) | Plan filing before the child’s 21st birthday |
SRRV Dependent Eligibility: Spouse and Children Under 21 at Filing
The PRA website and an official document from August 2025 agree on how SRRV dependents are described (Zagdim verified):
- Spouse: the principal applicant’s legally married spouse.
- Children: unmarried and under 21 at the time of filing, whether legitimate or legally adopted (PRA, “SRRVisa”). PRA’s revised service standards from September 2025 phrase this as “under 20,” which means the same thing.
A dependent is also an SRRV applicant in their own right. PRA’s service standards sort applicants into “principal applicant” and “dependent,” and PRA’s holder service request form asks for each dependent’s own SRRV number to be entered individually — which indicates that an approved dependent holds their own SRRV. A dependent can apply together with the principal applicant, or be added after the principal applicant has already been granted an SRRV.
What happens once a child turns 21? This is not specified. As of September 2026, the public PRA material we reviewed only states that a child must be under 21 “at the time of filing” — it does not say whether a child who already holds an SRRV as a dependent remains valid, or needs to change status, once they turn 21. For families whose children are already 19 or 20, filing should be scheduled before the child’s 21st birthday; families planning around a child staying in the Philippines through college and past 21 should confirm the arrangement with PRA in writing before applying, rather than relying on verbal guidance.
Do SRRV Dependent Children Need a Student Visa to Study in the Philippines?
What the Rules Say: PRA’s Benefit List and BI’s Student Rules
PRA’s website lists multiple entry and stay, indefinite residency, and exemption from the Bureau of Immigration’s annual report, Alien Certificate of Registration (ACR I-Card), and re-entry permit requirements, along with exemption from a “separate work/student visa or permit,” among the benefits of holding an SRRV (Zagdim verified). PRA’s 2025 public presentation states this even more directly: “exempted from securing separate Student Visa/Study permit” (PRA, “An Introduction to the Philippine Retirement Program”).
A foreign child without an SRRV must look at which visa they hold. BI lists some cases that don’t need a separate permit — for example, the dependent children of certain work-visa (9G) holders can attend a BI-accredited school as dependents without a separate student visa or SSP (Bureau of Immigration, “FAQ’s”). A child on a tourist visa follows BI’s own rules instead (Zagdim verified):
| Comparison | Child Holding SRRV (Dependent) | Child Holding a Tourist Visa |
|---|---|---|
| Status in the Philippines | SRRV: multiple entry, indefinite stay | Tourist visa; must apply for extension before it expires |
| Primary/secondary school (under 18) | PRA lists exemption from a separate student visa or permit | Needs a Special Study Permit (SSP); BI describes the SSP as a permit, not a visa, riding on the tourist visa |
| College (18 and above) | Same as above | Needs a Student Visa (9F), for foreign students aged 18+ enrolling in courses above high school |
| Who files | Parents file it together with the SRRV application | The school must apply on the student’s behalf, addressed to the Bureau of Immigration, with the school’s letter of acceptance |
| BI fees | Not billed separately (dependent application and annual fees are covered in the next section) | SSP totals PHP 5,240 plus US$50 for the ACR I-Card; 9F totals PHP 9,720 plus US$50 (BI’s page marks these as rates updated 6 March 2014; the page still showed these figures when we checked in September 2026 — confirm the current amount with BI) |
Zagdim Reality Check: Children Studying in the Philippines
| What the Rules Say (Zagdim Verified) | What Applicants Ran Into (Zagdim Research) | Zagdim’s Take |
|---|---|---|
| PRA lists exemption from a separate student visa or permit as an SRRV holder benefit; BI requires a tourist-visa child under 18 to get an SSP and one 18 or above attending college to get a 9F, and only a BI-accredited school can enroll foreign students | Among applicants Zagdim has tracked, families with children are a common profile among Chinese-speaking SRRV applicants; providing for a child’s education and having a “second home abroad” are common reasons cited | The most direct benefit of the SRRV is that a child doesn’t need to ride on a tourist visa or get a separate study permit. But official material doesn’t specify what documents a school will ask to see for an SRRV dependent, or what happens once a child turns 21 — both should be confirmed before choosing a school or filing, rather than treating the benefit list as confirmation that a school will admit the child. |
Before SRRV Approval, Children Hold Tourist Visa Status
Under PRA’s official documentation, an SRRV applicant must remain in the Philippines throughout the application period, and dependent applicants must also file with a passport carrying a valid tourist visa (PRA, “Expanded SRRV Program”). Under BI rules, a minor studying in the Philippines on a tourist visa needs an SSP; what happens if school has already started before the SRRV is approved is not addressed in the public PRA or BI material we reviewed as of September 2026. The more reliable approach is to schedule SRRV filing before the school term starts, leaving time for processing. For SRRV official processing times and applicant experience, see How Long Does the Philippines SRRV Actually Take, and What Does It Cost?.
Bringing Children on SRRV: Deposit, Application Fee, and Annual Fee
The number of dependents directly changes three SRRV costs (Zagdim verified):
- Deposit: already covers the principal applicant plus 2 dependents; for Classic, each dependent from the 3rd onward adds US$15,000 (PRA, “SRRVisa”). This surcharge does not apply to former Filipino citizens.
- Application fee: US$1,500 for the principal applicant, US$300 per dependent, non-refundable if withdrawn.
- Annual fee: Classic is US$360 per year, covering the principal applicant plus 2 dependents, with each dependent beyond that adding US$100; for Courtesy, each additional dependent adds US$10.
“Couple plus 2 children” works out to a principal applicant plus 3 dependents, so the deposit is US$15,000 higher than “couple plus 1 child.” The figures below cover official fees only (as of September 2026); document authentication, medical exams, and travel are separate:
| Scenario (Illustrative) | Category | Deposit (Refundable) | Application Fee (Non-refundable) | Annual Fee |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| A. Couple, both 45, 1 child, no lifetime pension | Classic, aged 40–49, no pension | US$50,000 | US$2,100 | US$360 |
| B. Couple, both 45, 2 children, no lifetime pension | Classic, aged 40–49, no pension | US$65,000 | US$2,400 | US$460 |
| C. Couple, both 52, 3 children, lifetime pension of at least US$1,000/month | Classic, aged 50+, with pension | US$45,000 | US$2,700 | US$560 |
Scenario C’s deposit is US$15,000 plus US$15,000 each for the 2 dependents above the covered limit. “With pension” means a lifetime pension of at least US$800/month (single) or US$1,000/month (with dependents). For the full deposit tiers and fees, see Philippines SRRV 2025 Update: Classic Age Threshold Lowered to 40.
Six Questions for SRRV Families to Answer First
- Is the principal applicant 40–49, or 50 and above? Is there a lifetime pension of at least US$1,000/month?
- Spouse plus children — how many dependents in total? Above 2, Classic adds US$15,000 to the deposit per additional dependent.
- How old will each child be at filing? Will any of them turn 21 before filing?
- Is any child already 18 or above, and will they need a police clearance certificate?
- Where will proof of the parent-child relationship be issued — does it need an apostille, or notarization plus authentication by your foreign ministry and then the Philippine embassy or consulate?
- Which school term is the child expected to start? Can SRRV filing and processing be scheduled before the term begins?
Answering all six lets a family estimate the deposit, documents, and filing timeline. Whichever question is hardest to answer is usually the one to resolve first.
Documents for a Child’s SRRV Application: What Age Determines
Under the PRA website and an August 2025 document (Zagdim verified), a dependent child needs to prepare:
| Document | Under 18 | 18 and Above |
|---|---|---|
| Passport with a valid tourist visa | Required | Required |
| PRA application form, PRA medical certificate (within 6 months), BI clearance certificate (BICC), 8 photos | Required | Required |
| Police clearance certificate from your home country or last country of residence (within 6 months, authenticated) | Not required | Required |
| Philippine NBI clearance | Not required | Required only if already in the Philippines 90+ days before filing |
| Proof of the parent-child relationship (birth certificate, family register, adoption papers, or court guardianship order) | Required, authenticated by apostille or the Philippine embassy/consulate; translated if not in English | Same as left |
| Dependent application fee | US$300 | US$300 |
Documents proving the parent-child relationship — a birth certificate or family register, for example — usually need an apostille if your home country is a member of the Hague Apostille Convention. If it isn’t, the usual path is notarization, then authentication by your home country’s foreign ministry, then authentication by the Philippine embassy or consulate — a three-step chain that Zagdim has found typically takes one to two weeks depending on where you file. Documents not in English need translation. For a child aged 18 or above, the police clearance certificate goes through the same authentication chain, and it must be dated no more than 6 months before filing.
A child’s documents may look like just a few extra items, but the real difficulty is that the timing interacts: a child’s age decides whether a police clearance is needed, the police clearance has a 6-month validity window, the authentication chain takes one to two weeks, and the child cannot turn 21 by the time of filing. All of this can be planned out ahead of time: list every family member’s date of birth, work backward to the latest possible filing date, then decide when to request the police clearance and when to send the family register for authentication. School selection and enrollment are handled directly between parents and the school.
Choosing a School for SRRV Families: Three Things to Confirm First
Zagdim does not rank or recommend individual schools. The following three points all have an official basis and apply to any school (Zagdim verified):
- Whether the school is BI-accredited to enroll foreign students. BI states that only a school accredited by BI can enroll foreign students; a school must apply to BI for this accreditation, which includes an on-site inspection (Bureau of Immigration, “School Accreditation”). Even though an SRRV dependent is exempt from a separate student visa, whether a school still treats this accreditation as a precondition for enrolling foreign students is not specified in public BI material as of September 2026 — confirm directly with the school, since requirements can vary by school.
- Whether the school and the grade level your child will enter have government authorization and recognition. Under the Philippines’ Education Act of 1982, a school must obtain prior government authorization to offer a program, and complete “recognition” before students who finish that program can receive a valid certificate or diploma. When choosing a school, ask to see the authorization and recognition documents for the specific grade or program.
- The proportion of foreign students. Under the Philippine Constitution, schools cannot be established exclusively for foreigners, and no school may have foreign students exceeding one-third of total enrollment, except for schools set up for the children of foreign diplomatic personnel and, unless otherwise provided by law, other foreign temporary residents. Which rule applies to a given school is not published school by school; schools with many foreign students may have limited places as a result, so it is worth asking before enrolling.
Beyond the official requirements, think ahead about curriculum and future schooling: if a child may continue their education back in your home country, or in a different country, confirm in advance with both the current and prospective schools how coursework and diplomas will be recognized.
What Zagdim Is Still Checking
Zagdim has sent an inquiry on the following point and will update this article once a reply is received:
- The deposit amount for a former Filipino citizen family’s 3rd dependent. Official material explicitly exempts former Filipino citizens from the US$15,000 surcharge but does not state a replacement amount. Zagdim wrote to PRA on 24 September 2026 to ask.
Zagdim’s Observation
In Zagdim Field Research, families with children are a common profile among Chinese-speaking applicants considering the SRRV, and what they’re weighing isn’t retirement alone — it’s their children’s education and a second home abroad. For these families, the SRRV’s own dependent rules are fairly clear; what actually takes time is the two things official material leaves unwritten: what happens once a child turns 21, and what documents a school will ask to see. Getting clear answers to those two questions before deciding on a filing date and a school tends to save more trouble than finding out after the visa is already approved.
Philippines SRRV Dependent Children: Frequently Asked Questions
Do SRRV Family Children Need a Student Visa to Study in the Philippines?
Short answer: Under the PRA website, SRRV holders are exempt from a separate work or student visa or permit. Zagdim’s reading: under PRA’s service standards and application form, once a child obtains an SRRV as a dependent, they are an SRRV holder; PRA’s 2025 public presentation also states exemption from a separate student visa or study permit. What documents a school will ask to see is not specified in the official material we reviewed — confirm with the school before enrollment, since requirements can vary.
Up to What Age Can a Child Be an SRRV Dependent?
Short answer: Unmarried children who are under 21 at the time of filing. Legitimate or legally adopted children both qualify; age is counted at the time of filing. PRA’s revised service standards from September 2025 phrase this as “under 20,” which means the same thing.
Is a Child’s SRRV Still Valid After They Turn 21?
Short answer: As of September 2026, public PRA material does not specify. Current PRA documents only require a child to be under 21 at the time of filing; they don’t address what happens after a child who holds an SRRV as a dependent turns 21. Families whose children are close to 21, or who plan for a child to stay through college in the Philippines, should confirm this with PRA in writing before applying.
How Much Is the Deposit for a Family of Four Applying for SRRV?
Short answer: Classic adds US$15,000 for a 3rd dependent on top of the base deposit. A couple with 2 children counts as a principal applicant plus 3 dependents, and the deposit only covers 2 dependents. For a couple both aged 45 with no lifetime pension, the deposit is US$50,000 plus US$15,000, totaling US$65,000; this surcharge does not apply to former Filipino citizens.
Can a Child Be Added After the Principal Applicant Already Has an SRRV?
Short answer: Yes — PRA allows a dependent to be added after the principal applicant is approved. A child’s age requirement is still counted as of the time of filing, so families with a child close to 21 should schedule filing before that birthday; each dependent’s application fee is US$300.
What Extra Is Needed If a Child Is Already 18 or Older?
Short answer: A police clearance certificate from your home country or last country of residence. It must be dated within 6 months of filing and authenticated by apostille or the Philippine embassy/consulate; a Philippine NBI clearance is also required if the child has already been in the Philippines 90 or more days before filing.
How Do I Confirm a School in the Philippines Can Enroll Foreign Students?
Short answer: Ask first whether the school is BI-accredited to enroll foreign students, and ask to see the government authorization and recognition for the grade level. BI states only an accredited school can enroll foreign students; under the Education Act, a program must be government-recognized before students can receive a valid diploma.
Key Facts on This Page
| Claim in This Article | Status | Basis | Date Checked |
|---|---|---|---|
| SRRV dependents are limited to a legal spouse and legitimate/legally adopted children who are unmarried and under 21 at filing; a dependent can be added after the principal applicant is approved | Zagdim verified | PRA, “SRRVisa”; PRA, “Expanded SRRV Program” (August 2025) | 24 September 2026 |
| PRA lists exemption from a “separate work/student visa or permit” as an SRRV holder benefit | Zagdim verified | PRA, “SRRVisa”; PRA, “An Introduction to the Philippine Retirement Program” (February 2025) | 24 September 2026 |
| A foreign child on a tourist visa: under 18 needs an SSP, 18+ attending college needs a 9F; dependent children of 9G holders, among others, are exempt | Zagdim verified | Bureau of Immigration, “FAQ’s”; Bureau of Immigration, “Special Study Permit”; Bureau of Immigration, “Student Visa (9F)” | 24 September 2026 |
| BI’s page lists SSP at PHP 5,240 plus US$50, and 9F at PHP 9,720 plus US$50, marked as rates updated 6 March 2014; current amounts unconfirmed | Zagdim verified | Bureau of Immigration, “Special Study Permit”; Bureau of Immigration, “Student Visa (9F)” | 24 September 2026 |
| Whether a dependent’s SRRV remains valid after the child turns 21 | Not specified by official rules (as of September 2026) | PRA, “SRRVisa”; PRA, “Processing of SRRV Application” (revised September 2025) | 24 September 2026 |
| Deposit covers principal applicant plus 2 dependents; for Classic, each dependent from the 3rd onward adds US$15,000; dependent application fee is US$300 per person | Zagdim verified | PRA, “SRRVisa”; PRA, “Expanded SRRV Program” (August 2025) | 24 September 2026 |
| Deposit amount for a former Filipino citizen family’s 3rd dependent | Awaiting PRA reply | PRA, “SRRVisa” | 24 September 2026 |
Applied for or Hold an SRRV? Share Your Experience
Zagdim checks every account before using it anonymously in updates to this article; no personal data or advertising is published. Leave a comment below.
Update Log
- 24 September 2026: Initial version. Official information drawn from the PRA website and PRA documents from August and September 2025, the Bureau of Immigration website (SSP, student visa, school accreditation, FAQs), and the Philippine Constitution and the Education Act of 1982.
- 24 September 2026: Revised. Added the Key Facts table, narrowed the scope of “not specified by official rules” and clarified who the student-visa rules apply to, marked Zagdim’s reading where applicable, added source links for key sentences and the share-your-experience section, and corrected statistical wording.
Important Notes
This article is general information and does not constitute legal, immigration, education, or financial advice. Whether an individual qualifies, whether a dependent is eligible, and the deposit amount are determined by the Philippine Retirement Authority (PRA); whether a child can enroll is determined by the school and the relevant Philippine authorities. Official information is drawn from PRA, the Bureau of Immigration website, and Philippine law, current as of September 2026; rules are subject to the latest official announcements. Zagdim research and Zagdim practice reflect the experience of applicants and real cases, do not represent all applicants, and individual cases may vary — this article is for planning reference only.
Sources
- Philippine Retirement Authority — “SRRVisa”
- Philippine Retirement Authority — “Expanded SRRV Program” (August 2025)
- Philippine Retirement Authority — “Processing of SRRV Application” (revised September 2025).pdf)
- Philippine Retirement Authority — “Retiree Request Form” (April 2026)
- Philippine Retirement Authority — “An Introduction to the Philippine Retirement Program” (February 2025)
- Bureau of Immigration — “Special Study Permit”
- Bureau of Immigration — “Checklist of Documentary Requirements for Special Study Permit”
- Bureau of Immigration — “Student Visa (9F)”
- Bureau of Immigration — “School Accreditation”
- Bureau of Immigration — “FAQ’s”
- Supreme Court E-Library — “1987 Constitution, Article XIV”
- Supreme Court E-Library — “Batas Pambansa Blg. 232 (Education Act of 1982)”
Have a question about this guide? Leave a comment below, or ask Zagdim directly.
Your first stop for international property and global living.
Research and insights. Know what’s changing. Understand what matters.







































