The Special Resident Retiree’s Visa (SRRV) is a long-term residency visa issued by the Philippine Bureau of Immigration under the retirement program of the Philippine Retirement Authority (PRA), for foreign nationals and former Filipino citizens. Holders can live in the Philippines long-term, with multiple entry and exit. Getting the SRRV approved is not the last step: holders still have an annual fee, an ID card, a passport, and a deposit to manage. This article answers one question: after SRRV approval, what needs to be done each year, how often, and what deserves extra attention?
According to the PRA’s official website and official documents (Zagdim verified), SRRV holders pay a PRA annual fee every year — after the September 2025 revision, US$360 for Classic, US$100 for Courtesy (foreign nationals), and US$50 for Courtesy (former Filipino citizens), each covering the principal applicant plus two dependents. The PRA ID must be renewed before it expires, with the annual fee paid at the same time. After getting a new passport, holders must have the SRRV re-stamped into it (PRA service fee US$10 plus a Bureau of Immigration fee of ₱1,010, per person). The deposit must stay with a PRA-accredited bank, or be converted into a qualifying property or long-term lease investment. On entry and exit, holders do not need a Bureau of Immigration exit/re-entry permit and are exempt from the annual report.
This article labels its sources as Zagdim verified or Zagdim research, and includes a checklist for the obligations that continue after approval, to help holders plan their own annual schedule. Zagdim research comes from Zagdim Field Research: the Zagdim research team has compiled the first-hand experiences of nearly 1,500 SRRV applicants, holders and people considering the visa, from 2007 to 2026, recording processing times, costs, documents and problems case by case and cross-checking them against the official PRA rules (see How Zagdim researches). Data is current as of September 2026.
SRRV Holder Checklist: What to Do, and How Often
| Item | Frequency / Timing | Official Fee or Rule (Zagdim verified) | Official Source |
|---|---|---|---|
| Pay the PRA annual fee | Every year; the first year is paid when the application is filed | Classic US$360; Courtesy (foreign nationals) US$100; Courtesy (former Filipino citizens) US$50 (each covering the principal applicant plus 2 dependents) | PRA, “SRRVisa” |
| Renew the PRA ID | By the expiry date on the card; the official page states both 2 years and 1 year | The annual fee for the new validity period is paid in full at renewal, per the fee schedule; mailing costs extra | PRA, “ID Services”; Citizen’s Charter |
| Entry and exit | Every entry and exit | No Bureau of Immigration exit/re-entry permit, no annual report, and no Alien Certificate of Registration (ACR I-Card) required | PRA, “SRRVisa” |
| Re-stamp the SRRV into a new passport | When the passport is renewed | PRA US$10 + Bureau of Immigration ₱1,010 (per person) | PRA, “Servicing Request” |
| Maintain the deposit | Continuously, for as long as the visa is held | Stays with a PRA-accredited bank, or is converted into a qualifying investment | PRA, “SRRVisa”; “Servicing Request” |
| Move the deposit to another bank, or withdraw interest | As needed; mandatory if the depository bank loses accreditation | Apply to the PRA for a transfer clearance; interest is handled through the depository bank | PRA, “Servicing Request” |
| Convert the deposit into property or a long-term lease | Optional; after 30 days from visa issuance | At least US$50,000 | PRA conversion checklist documents |
| Add a dependent | When the family situation changes | Application fee US$300 per person; for Classic, each dependent from the 3rd onward adds US$15,000 to the deposit | PRA, “SRRVisa” |
| ID lost or details changed | When it happens | Replacement fee US$10 per person | PRA, “ID Services” |
| Withdraw from the SRRV | When you decide to withdraw | Cancel first, then apply to withdraw the deposit (covered in a separate article) | PRA Citizen’s Charter |
In Zagdim Field Research, the issues holders raise most often after SRRV approval are ID renewal, entry and exit, the annual fee, deposit withdrawal or refunds, and opening a bank account. Each is covered below.
SRRV Annual Fee: New Rates, How to Pay, and Pre-2025 Holders
After the September 2025 revision, the PRA’s published SRRV annual fees are as follows (Zagdim verified):
| Category | Principal Applicant + 2 Dependents | Each Dependent From the 3rd Onward |
|---|---|---|
| Classic | US$360 | US$100 |
| Courtesy (Foreign Nationals) | US$100 | US$10 |
| Courtesy (Former Filipino Citizens) | US$50 | US$10 |
According to the PRA’s website, the annual fee is paid once at enrollment and then every year for as long as the SRRV is held; the official service sheet revised in September 2025 states that the first year’s fee is paid when the application is filed (PRA, “SRRVisa”; PRA, “Processing of SRRV Application”.pdf)). There are two ways to pay: in person at a PRA office, in cash, in US dollars or pesos, or by deposit into the PRA’s account at the Land Bank of the Philippines. For wire transfers from abroad, the holder bears the bank charges, and the PRA’s website notes that Land Bank charges US$5 (PRA, “ID Services”).
The annual fee and the ID are linked. In the PRA’s official service standards, the fee field for ID renewal simply reads “per the SRRV plan’s annual fee schedule,” which suggests holders typically pay the fee for the new card’s validity period at the same time they renew the ID.
Pre-2025 holders: not stated officially. As of September 2026, the PRA public materials reviewed for this article do not state whether people who obtained the SRRV before September 2025 continue to pay the old annual fee. The official clue that is available: the fee schedule on the PRA’s “ID Services” page still lists rates by the plan the holder joined under, with Courtesy at US$10 per person per year and Classic at US$360 (covering 2 dependents). In Zagdim research, pre-revision Courtesy holders have reported renewal payments still at US$10 per person per year, with no reports of being charged the new rate — but this is not the same as an official commitment to keep the old rate. Zagdim wrote to the PRA on 24 September 2026 to ask.
Zagdim reality check: SRRV Annual Fee and ID
| What the rules say (Zagdim verified) | What applicants ran into (Zagdim research) | Zagdim’s take |
|---|---|---|
| New rates: Classic US$360, Courtesy (foreign nationals) US$100, Courtesy (former Filipino citizens) US$50; how pre-revision holders are charged is not stated in PRA public materials | Pre-revision Courtesy holders report renewal payments still at US$10 per person per year after the revision | New applicants should budget with the new rates. Existing holders should check the fee slip the PRA issues at renewal and ask directly if the amount differs from before. |
| ID validity: the official page states both 2 years and 1 year on the same page | Applicants report 2-year renewals becoming common from the second half of 2025 onward, with 2 years’ fees paid at once | Go by the expiry date printed on the card; start preparing a month ahead, and confirm at renewal both the new card’s validity and how many years’ fee was paid. |
SRRV: PRA ID Renewal, Validity, and Methods
Validity: the official pages are not consistent. The top of the PRA’s “ID Services” page states that, under PRA Circular No. 004, s. 2025 dated 30 June 2025, the PRA ID is valid for 2 years; the FAQ on the same page cites an October 2024 circular and states a 1-year validity, with no renewal for more than 1 year at a time. The PRA’s 2025 Citizen’s Charter states that the ID’s validity was originally 1 year and changed to 2 years starting in 2023. With three different accounts, this article recommends going by the expiry date printed on the card.
There are three ways to renew (Zagdim verified):
- In person at PRA headquarters or a satellite office: Open Monday to Friday, 7:00 a.m. to 4:00 p.m. Per the Citizen’s Charter, the ID can be issued in about four and a half hours when documents are complete.
- Through a satellite office for forwarding: About 8 working days.
- By email or mail: Available for holders who are not in the Philippines. Documents are sent by email, payment is wired to Land Bank per the fee slip the PRA issues, and proof of payment is mailed back; about 8 working days. Mailing the new card within the Philippines costs an additional ₱150; overseas shipping is charged by destination. A representative with a letter of authorization can also collect the card in person.
Documents required: the Retiree Request Form, the current PRA ID, a copy of the passport bio page, and a recent 2×2-inch photo on a white background. A September 2025 PRA advisory requires all holders to submit a new photo and complete a fingerprint form at renewal; a US$10 reissue fee applies if the photo does not meet specifications and has to be redone (PRA, “Advisory: SRRV ID Renewal”). When a representative handles the renewal, a letter of authorization signed by the holder, a notarized Guarantee Letter, and the representative’s own ID are also required. Holders whose deposit has been converted into property or a lease must also attach the title or lease documents at renewal.
A replacement ID is required if the card is lost, damaged, or the holder’s name or contact details change, at a fee of US$10 per person; a lost card also requires a notarized affidavit of loss or a police report.
In Zagdim Field Research, holders living abroad more often renew by email, then have the new card mailed abroad or collected by a relative or friend; the ID validity rule has changed between 1 and 2 years several times in recent years, and holders’ own accounts of it are not consistent either.
SRRV Entry and Exit: What Is Waived
According to the PRA’s website (Zagdim verified), SRRV holders have the following residency- and travel-related privileges:
- Multiple entries and indefinite stay.
- No Bureau of Immigration exit/re-entry permit required.
- No Bureau of Immigration annual report, and no need to apply for an Alien Certificate of Registration (ACR I-Card).
- Exempt from travel tax.
- Also exempt from work or study visas and permits; retirement pension and annuity income is tax-exempt; a one-time tax-free import allowance of up to US$7,000 for household goods and personal effects.
The PRA’s website also lists a PhilHealth special rate, discounts at PRA-accredited merchants, and assistance dealing with other government agencies.
In applicant reports, smooth entry and exit is the more common experience; immigration checks usually look at whether the SRRV visa page in the passport and the PRA ID are both still valid. Some holders also mention that entry rules changed temporarily during periods such as the pandemic. Confirming before departure that the ID’s validity covers the return date is a simple precaution; actual entry and exit requirements follow whatever the PRA or Bureau of Immigration asks for at the time.
SRRV and a New Passport: Re-Stamping Process
The SRRV is a visa stamped into the passport. After getting a new passport, holders must apply to the PRA to have the SRRV re-stamped into it, with the PRA forwarding the request to the Bureau of Immigration (Zagdim verified):
- Documents: the application form, and the original old passport with the SRRV stamp plus the new passport. If the old passport is lost, attach a notarized affidavit of loss or a police report; if it cannot be surrendered, attach an explanatory affidavit; a name or citizenship change requires supporting documents.
- Fee: PRA service fee US$10, plus a Bureau of Immigration fee of ₱1,010, both per person (PRA, “Servicing Request”).
- Timing: per the Citizen’s Charter, about 13–14 working days when filed at PRA headquarters, and about 17–18 working days when filed through a satellite office — the difference reflects whether a Bureau of Immigration record check is needed.
- Filing remotely: documents can be sent to the PRA by email for pre-review first; when a representative handles it, a notarized power of attorney or letter of authorization, a guarantee letter, and an apostille or consular authentication for documents issued abroad are required.
In Zagdim research, some holders report re-stamping taking longer than the official standard; holders who need to travel while waiting sometimes carry both the old and new passports. What documents to carry follows whatever the PRA or Bureau of Immigration asks for at the time.
Zagdim reality check: Entry, Exit, and Passport Re-Stamping
| What the rules say (Zagdim verified) | What applicants ran into (Zagdim research) | Zagdim’s take |
|---|---|---|
| Multiple entries; no exit/re-entry permit or annual report required | Smooth entry and exit is the more common report; checks usually look at the visa page and ID validity | Confirm before departure that the ID will not expire mid-trip. |
| Re-stamping takes about 13–18 working days | Some holders wait longer than the official standard, and carry both the old and new passports in the meantime | When the passport has less than a year of validity left, schedule the passport renewal and re-stamping for a period when travel is not needed; renewing the passport before applying for the SRRV is simpler still. Holders who must travel while waiting should confirm with the PRA beforehand what documents to carry. |
SRRV Deposit: Accredited Banks, Switching, Interest, and Conversion
The deposit must be maintained for as long as the visa is held. Per the PRA’s “Servicing Request” page (Zagdim verified), if a deposit that has been converted into an investment stops existing — for example, the property is sold or the lease ends — the holder must switch to another qualifying investment or redeposit the funds with an accredited bank.
Whose name the deposit account is under depends on the bank. A deposit held at the government bank DBP is deposited into the PRA’s own DBP account; a deposit at a private accredited bank is held in the holder’s own name, marked as a PRA deposit. This also affects how interest is withdrawn: holders with a private bank deposit can withdraw interest directly at the bank, without PRA clearance; holders with a DBP deposit must apply to the PRA on a form, and the PRA notifies DBP to wire the interest to an account the holder designates.
Switching banks: if the depository bank loses PRA accreditation, or a holder wants to move to another accredited bank, the holder applies to the PRA for a deposit transfer; once approved, the PRA issues a transfer clearance and an introduction letter, and the holder completes the transfer at the bank (PRA, “Servicing Request”). The list of accredited banks is not fully consistent across different pages of the PRA’s website, so before switching, holders should go by whichever bank is named in the introduction letter the PRA issues at the time. Any deposit above the amount required for the plan can also be withdrawn on application to the PRA.
Converting the deposit into property or a long-term lease (Zagdim verified): buying a ready-for-occupancy condominium unit is limited to the Classic plan and can only be used for the final payment; a long-term lease applies to plans other than SMILE and Human Touch and requires a lease term of at least 25 years; both require at least US$50,000 and must be applied for after 30 days from visa issuance, with a PRA restriction annotated on the title (PRA, “Checklist: Purchase of Condominium Unit (RFO)”; PRA, “Checklist: Long-Term Lease of House and Lot, Townhouse or Condo”). The PRA’s 2025 annual report records 82 holders with deposits converted into approved retirement investments as of December 2025, out of 60,022 active holders in the same period.
Withdrawing later: leaving the SRRV requires cancellation first, then an application to withdraw the deposit, and the gap between the official standard and applicants’ experience is not small. Zagdim covers the full withdrawal and deposit refund process separately (https://zagdim.com/en/philippines/philippines-srrv-cancellation-deposit-refund/).
Opening a Bank Account for SRRV Holders in the Philippines
In Zagdim research, funding the deposit and opening an everyday bank account are among the issues holders mention most often: some open a regular account quickly after getting the SRRV and PRA ID; others run into tellers unfamiliar with the PRA ID, requests for additional proof of residence, or an account that cannot be opened right away. During the application stage, a bank certificate of deposit is often reported as slow to issue, requiring extra documents. Some of these issues get resolved; others do not.
Two points are worth clarifying up front:
- The deposit account is not the same as an everyday account. The deposit is managed by the PRA and cannot be used freely; day-to-day banking needs a separate account. This suggests that holders whose deposit sits with DBP do not necessarily have any Philippine account at all.
- A Certificate of Membership is available from the PRA when proof of SRRV status is needed, at US$5 per copy (Zagdim verified).
These holding-period matters share one thing in common: many of them are effectively decided at the application stage. Which bank holds the deposit affects how interest, bank switching, and conversion are later handled; how much passport validity is left determines how soon re-stamping is needed; and when dependents join affects the deposit and the annual fee. Thinking through the deposit bank, passport validity, and dependents together before applying makes handling all of this — yourself or with help — go more smoothly. The annual fee can be paid by wire transfer, and the ID can be renewed by email; holders can complete these on their own.
SRRV Family Changes: Adding Dependents and Spousal Subrogation
According to the PRA’s website (Zagdim verified), a spouse and children can join at the same time as the principal applicant applies, or can be added after the principal applicant already holds the SRRV. A dependent added later pays an application fee of US$300 per person; dependents are limited to a legal spouse, and legitimate or legally adopted children who are unmarried and under 21 at the time of application. The deposit already covers the principal applicant plus 2 dependents; for Classic, each dependent from the 3rd onward adds US$15,000. The annual fee is also charged based on the number of dependents.
If the principal applicant dies, becomes incapacitated, or the couple separates, the PRA’s website FAQ — citing a 2007 PRA circular — states that a spouse who also holds the SRRV can apply to be subrogated as the new principal applicant. If the principal applicant dies and family members want to withdraw the deposit, the Bureau of Immigration must first cancel the SRRV.
What Zagdim Is Still Checking
The following points are not clearly stated in official documents. Zagdim wrote to the PRA on 24 September 2026 to ask, and will update this article once a reply arrives:
- The annual fee for pre-revision holders: whether Courtesy, Classic, SMILE, and Human Touch holders who obtained the SRRV before September 2025 continue to pay the old annual fee.
- Whether the annual fee switches to the new rate when a dependent is added, a plan is converted, or the passport is re-stamped.
- Whether unpaid annual fees are deducted from the deposit at withdrawal.
- When the deposit refund clock starts after withdrawal, and the related fees: the official standard is 18–29 working days to cancel and 5 working days to withdraw, but when the disbursement clock starts and how long the bank processing takes are not stated.
Zagdim’s Observation
In Zagdim Field Research, people who already hold the SRRV more often express satisfaction; the difficulties during the holding period are usually not that procedures are hard, but that rules change and official pages are not consistent with each other — for example, the same ID-validity page stating both 2 years and 1 year, two different pages listing different accredited banks, and pre-revision holders’ annual fee not being stated in PRA public materials. So the more practical approach is to go, each time, by whatever document the PRA issues at that moment: check the fee slip for payments, the introduction letter for bank switches, and the card itself for validity — and keep every payment and renewal receipt.
Philippines SRRV After Approval: Frequently Asked Questions
How Much Is the SRRV Annual Fee?
Short answer: After the September 2025 revision, it is US$360 a year for Classic, US$100 for Courtesy (foreign nationals), and US$50 for Courtesy (former Filipino citizens), each covering the principal applicant plus 2 dependents. For each dependent from the 3rd onward, Classic adds US$100 per person and both Courtesy categories add US$10 per person. The first year’s fee is paid when the application is filed; after that, it is usually paid in full, for the new validity period, at PRA ID renewal.
Do People Who Got the SRRV Before 2025 Pay the New Annual Fee?
Short answer: As of September 2026, PRA public materials do not state this, and Zagdim has written to the PRA to ask. The fee schedule on the PRA’s “ID Services” page still lists rates by the plan the holder joined under, with Courtesy at US$10 per person per year; in Zagdim research, pre-revision Courtesy holders report renewal payments still at US$10, but this is not an official commitment. Go by the fee slip the PRA issues at renewal.
How Often Does the PRA ID Need to Be Renewed?
Short answer: Go by the expiry date printed on the card — the official page states both 2 years and 1 year. The top of the PRA’s “ID Services” page cites a June 2025 circular and states a 2-year validity; the FAQ on the same page cites a 2024 circular and states 1 year. Applicant reports show 2-year renewals becoming common from the second half of 2025 onward.
Can the PRA ID Be Renewed While Outside the Philippines?
Short answer: Yes, the PRA accepts renewal by email or mail. The application form, ID, passport bio page, and new photo are sent by email; payment is wired to the PRA’s Land Bank account per the fee slip, and proof of payment is mailed back; this takes about 8 working days. Mailing the new card overseas is charged by destination, and a representative with a letter of authorization can also collect it.
What Happens to the SRRV When You Get a New Passport?
Short answer: You must apply to the PRA to have the SRRV re-stamped into the new passport, at a fee of PRA US$10 plus a Bureau of Immigration fee of ₱1,010, per person. This requires the application form and both the old and new passports; per the Citizen’s Charter, filing takes about 13–14 working days at PRA headquarters and about 17–18 at a satellite office, and documents can also be sent by email for pre-review first.
What Do SRRV Holders Need to Do for Entry and Exit?
Short answer: No Bureau of Immigration exit/re-entry permit or annual report is required, and no Alien Certificate of Registration is needed. Per the PRA’s website, holders can enter multiple times with an indefinite stay, and are exempt from travel tax. It is worth confirming before departure that the PRA ID’s validity covers the return date; actual entry and exit requirements follow whatever the PRA or Bureau of Immigration asks for at the time.
Can the SRRV Deposit Earn Interest or Be Moved to Another Bank?
Short answer: Yes — interest can be withdrawn, and the deposit can be transferred to another PRA-accredited bank. Holders with a deposit at a private accredited bank withdraw interest directly at the bank; holders with a deposit at DBP apply to the PRA on a form for a wire transfer. Switching banks requires a transfer clearance and introduction letter from the PRA first, and is mandatory if the depository bank loses accreditation.
Is There a Minimum Number of Days You Must Stay in the Philippines Each Year on an SRRV?
Short answer: As of September 2026, the PRA’s SRRV page does not list a minimum number of days per year. The privileges listed on the PRA’s website are multiple entry and indefinite stay; what holders must maintain during the holding period is the annual fee, the PRA ID’s validity, and the deposit.
For more on how long an SRRV application itself takes and what it costs, see Philippines SRRV Processing Time and Cost.
Key Facts on This Page: SRRV Holding Period
| Claim in This Article | Status | Source | Date Checked |
|---|---|---|---|
| Post-September-2025 annual fee: Classic US$360, Courtesy (foreign nationals) US$100, Courtesy (former Filipino citizens) US$50 (each covering the principal applicant plus 2 dependents) | Zagdim verified | PRA, “SRRVisa”; PRA, “Processing of SRRV Application” (revised September 2025) | 24 September 2026 |
| Whether pre-revision holders continue at the old annual fee; whether the fee switches to the new rate when a dependent is added, a plan is converted, or re-stamping occurs | Awaiting PRA reply | PRA, “ID Services” | 24 September 2026 |
| PRA ID validity: 2 years or 1 year | Zagdim verified (two official documents state it differently) | PRA, “ID Services”; PRA, “Citizen’s Charter 2025” | 24 September 2026 |
| Re-stamping the SRRV after a new passport: PRA US$10 + Bureau of Immigration ₱1,010 (per person), about 13–14 working days when filed at headquarters | Zagdim verified | PRA, “Servicing Request”; PRA, “Citizen’s Charter 2025” | 24 September 2026 |
| Holders are exempt from the Bureau of Immigration exit/re-entry permit, annual report, and Alien Certificate of Registration (ACR I-Card) | Zagdim verified | PRA, “SRRVisa” | 24 September 2026 |
| Minimum number of days that must be spent in the Philippines each year during the holding period | Not stated officially (as of September 2026) | PRA, “SRRVisa” | 24 September 2026 |
| Converting the deposit into property or a long-term lease: at least US$50,000, applied for after 30 days from visa issuance | Zagdim verified | PRA, “Checklist: Purchase of Condominium Unit (RFO)”; PRA, “Checklist: Long-Term Lease of House and Lot, Townhouse or Condo” (February 2025) | 24 September 2026 |
| Pre-revision Courtesy holders continue to renew at US$10 per person per year | Zagdim research | Zagdim Field Research | September 2026 |
Applied for or Hold an SRRV? Share Your Experience
Zagdim checks every account before using it anonymously in updates to this article; no personal data and no advertising is published. Leave a comment below.
Update Log
- 24 September 2026: First published. Official information follows the PRA’s website pages (“SRRVisa,” “ID Services,” “Servicing Request”), PRA documents from August and September 2025, the 2025 Citizen’s Charter, and the PRA’s 2025 annual report; the items under “What Zagdim Is Still Checking” have been sent to the PRA.
- 24 September 2026: Revised. Added the Key Facts table, narrowed the scope of “not stated officially” claims and labeled Zagdim’s reading, added source links on key sentences and the share-your-experience section, and corrected statistical wording.
Important Notes
This article is general information and does not constitute legal, immigration, or financial advice; the annual fee, deposit arrangements, and procedures that apply to any individual follow the review outcome and the documents issued at the time by the Philippine Retirement Authority (PRA) and the Bureau of Immigration. Official information is drawn from the PRA’s website and official documents, current as of September 2026; where rules have since been updated, the PRA’s latest announcements govern. Zagdim research and Zagdim practice in this article reflect the experience of applicants and real cases, do not represent all applicants, individual cases may differ, and are for planning reference only.
Sources
- Philippine Retirement Authority — “SRRVisa”
- Philippine Retirement Authority — “ID Services”
- Philippine Retirement Authority — “Servicing Request”
- Philippine Retirement Authority — “Accredited Banks”
- Philippine Retirement Authority — “Advisory: SRRV ID Renewal” (September 2025)
- Philippine Retirement Authority — “Processing of SRRV Application” (revised September 2025).pdf)
- Philippine Retirement Authority — “Citizen’s Charter 2025”
- Philippine Retirement Authority — “Checklist: Purchase of Condominium Unit (RFO)”
- Philippine Retirement Authority — “Checklist: Long-Term Lease of House and Lot, Townhouse or Condo” (February 2025)
- Philippine Retirement Authority — “Annual Report 2025”
Have a question about this guide? Leave a comment below, or ask Zagdim directly.
Your first stop for international property and global living.
Research and insights. Know what’s changing. Understand what matters.







































